

# **Jaffna Science Association**

30<sup>th</sup> Annual Scientific Sessions 10<sup>th</sup>, 11<sup>th</sup> and 12<sup>th</sup> July 2024

## Chief Guest

## Professor Kopalasuntharam Muhunthan

MBBS (Jaffna), MS (Colombo) FRCOG (UK)
Professor in Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Faculty of Medicine
University of Jaffna

## Venue

Hoover Auditorium Faculty of Medicine University of Jaffna

### Day 1: 10th July 2024 [Wednesday]

### **Session 1: Inauguration**

Session Chair: Prof. Ganeshalingam Sashikesh

- 8.00: Registration
- 8.30: Lighting the Traditional Oil Lamp
- 8.40: Welcome Address
- 8.50: President's Address
- 9.00: Release of "யாழின் தேடல்", "பிரயோக விஞ்ஞானச் சுடர்", "சமூக விஞ்ஞான ஆய்வுகள்"
- 9.10: Release of "Proceedings and Abstracts", "Newsletter"
- 9.20: Awarding of Professor Kandiah Balasubramanium Gold Medal to **Prof. K. Muhunthan**

## **Professor Kandiah Balasubramanium Gold Medal Lecture**

"Saving mothers' lives from postpartum haemorrhage — Revival of Tranexamic Acid"

Prof. K. Muhunthan

- 10.00: Awarding of Professor Alagaiah Thurairajah Gold Medal
- 10.10: Tea Break

#### **Session 2: Section A – Pure Sciences**

Session Chair: Dr. Abiramy Sivaruban

Venue: Social Welfare Centre, Faculty of Science

- 11.00: Chairperson's Address: Mrs. Piratheepa Sivakumar
  - "Ecological implications of barrage construction across the Thondamanaru Lagoon"
- 11.45: Popular Lecture: Mr. Krishnan Akilan
  - "Opportunities for sustainable Fisheries in Northern Province"
- 12.30: Lunch Break

## **Session 3: Section B- Applied Sciences**

Session Chair: Dr. Loha Pradheeban

Venue: Social Welfare Centre, Faculty of Science

- 13.00: Chairperson's Address: Dr. Rasu Eeswaran
  - "Linking Agronomic Resilience to Sustainability in Agriculture"
- 13.45: Popular Lecture: Mr. Sivapatham Sivakumar
  - "Harnessing agricultural technologies for sustainable development in the Northern Province"
- 14.30: Tea Break

#### **Session 4: Section C – Medical Sciences**

Session Chair: Dr. Sivarangini Sivagnanam

Venue: Social Welfare Centre, Faculty of Science

- 15.00: Chairperson's Address: Dr. Nagarajah Parameswaran
  - "Parenting is an Art as well as Science"
- 15.45: Popular Lecture: Dr. Kanagaratnam Sathiamoorthy
  - "Dangers of Hypertension"

## Day 2: 11th July 2024 [Thursday]

#### **Session 5: Theme Seminar**

"To Ensure a Sustainable Future Businesses Must Integrate Eco-Innovation"
Session Chair: Prof. Poobalasundaram Iyngaran
Venue: Conference Hall, Faculty of Medicine

- 9.00: Opening Address by Session Chair
- 9.15 Dr. Arumugam Manjceevan
  - "Nature's Blueprint: Shaping the Future of Industry Through Fundamental Science"
- 9.45: Dr. Subajini Sivakanthan
  - "Innovative and Sustainable Food Technology"
- 10.15: Tea break
- 10.30: Ms. Sathya Sambavathas
  - "A Boon in drug discovery and development"
- 11.00 Dr. Kamalakumari Karunaanithy
  - "Eco-Ethics in Action: Building a Socially Conscious Foundation for Sustainable Development through Eco-Innovation in Business"
- 11.30: Concluding Remarks
- 11.45: Lunch Break

## **Session 6: Presentation of Research Papers**

- 13.00: Section A Social Welfare Centre, Faculty of Science
- 15.00: Section B Social Welfare Centre, Faculty of Science
- 13.00: Section C Seminar Room, Department of Community and Family Medicine
- 13.00: Section D Parallel Sessions Hall 1

Parallel Sessions - Hall 2

Parallel Sessions - Hall 3

## **Day 3: 12th July 2024 [Friday]**

#### Session 7: Section D – Social Sciences

Session Chair: Dr. Thevanayagam Thevananth Venue: Social Welfare Center, Faculty of Science

8.30: Chairperson's Address: Mr. Thiraviyanathan Thileepan

"விஞ்ஞான வளர்ச்சியில் தோமஸ் கூனின் முறையியற் சிந்தனைகளும் அவற்றின் பிரயோகத்தன்மைகளும்"

9.15: Popular Lecture: Dr. Nagamuthu Piratheeparajah

"Climate change adaptation and mitigation through local and Indigenous knowledge in Northern Sri Lanka"

10.00: Tea break

#### 10.30: Sectional Meetings

Section A: CHL, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science

Section B: 1P, Department of Physics, Faculty of Science

Section C: Seminar Room, Department of Community and Family Medicine, Faculty of Medicine

Section D: Social Welfare Center, Faculty of Science

#### 11.30: Annual General Meeting - CHL, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science

Confirmation of the minutes of the 29th Annual General Meeting

Secretary's report

Treasurer's report

Any other business

Election of the 31st Executive Committee of the Jaffna Science Association

12.30: Lunch break

## Session 8: Presidential Address and Awarding Ceremony Venue: Conference Hall, Faculty of Medicine

- 13.55: Procession of the 31st Executive Committee of the Jaffna Science Association arrives at the venue
- 14.00: Lighting the Traditional Oil Lamp
- 14.05: Presidential Address: Dr. Kengatharaiyer Sarveswaran

#### "AI for Science and Society"

- 14.50: Prof. Kanthia Kunaratnam Gold Medal Oration and Awarding Ceremony
- 15.10: Awarding Ceremony of the School Science Programme 2024
- 16.20: Vote of Thanks: Dr. Suvanthini Terensan

#### End of the 30th Annual Scientific Sessions